Guide

Awario Review 2026: Pricing, Real Limits and Catches

Awario is the cheap end of social listening: 30,000 mentions a month for $29 billed annually. What you give up at that price, including export, the API, and cancelling without emailing support.

By Shubham Bhatt · September 23, 2026 · 8 min read

Quick answer

Awario watches social networks, news and the web for keywords you define, with Boolean search and sentiment analysis. Starter is $29 a month billed annually ($49 monthly) for 3 topics and 30,000 new mentions a month. Pro is $89 ($149 monthly) for 15 topics and 300,000 mentions. Enterprise is $249 ($399) for 100 topics and a million mentions. The free trial needs no card. Two things to know before buying: export is Pro and above, and cancelling means contacting support. Prices read from awario.com on 23 September 2026.

IdeaFast reads a community’s recent posts and ranks the problems that keep coming up, with a link to every thread. Point it at your own niche. Your first scan is free.

Scan your niche

$0.97

One thousand mentions cost $0.97 on Awario's Starter plan, billed annually. The same thousand mentions cost $10.60 on Octolens Pro, because Awario sells volume and Octolens sells AI filtering of every mention.
Source: IdeaFast calculation from each vendor's published plan prices and monthly mention allowances, both read 23 September 2026.. Free to cite with a link to this page.

What Awario does

You create a topic, which Awario also calls an alert, and give it keywords. There is no per-topic keyword limit, so a topic can be your brand plus its misspellings plus your product names, and Boolean search is on every plan, including the cheapest. Awario then collects mentions from social networks, news sites and the wider web, with sentiment analysis, location data and a Slack integration.

It is a volume tool. It does not score each mention for whether it matters to your business the way newer AI-first tools do. What you get is a large, searchable pile of mentions and the filters to work through it yourself.

Awario pricing in 2026

PlanBilled annuallyBilled monthlyTopicsNew mentions a monthStored per topicSeats
Starter$29/mo$49/mo330,0005,0001
Pro$89/mo$149/mo15300,00015,00010
Enterprise$249/mo$399/mo1001,000,00050,000Unlimited
Read from awario.com/pricing on 23 September 2026, both billing toggles. Annual billing saves up to 40%, the steepest annual discount in this category. Keywords per topic are unlimited on every plan.

Note the two different mention numbers. New mentions a month is how much it will collect; stored mentions per topic is how much history it keeps. Once a topic hits its storage ceiling, Awario replaces the oldest mentions with new ones, so on Starter you are working with a rolling 5,000 per topic rather than an archive.

What a mention actually costs

Bar chart of Awario cost per 1,000 mentions. Starter $0.97 billed annually or $1.63 monthly. Pro $0.30 or $0.50. Enterprise $0.25 or $0.40.
Plan price divided by the new mentions each plan allows a month. Calculated from Awario's published figures, read 23 September 2026. Free to cite with a link.

Per mention, Awario gets cheaper as you climb: $0.97 per thousand on Starter, $0.30 on Pro, $0.25 on Enterprise, billed annually. Per topic it goes the same way: $9.67, $5.93 and $2.49 a month. Paying monthly instead of annually costs roughly 60% more, which is the widest annual gap we have measured in this category.

The practical reading: Starter is priced for one brand watched properly, not for three. If you genuinely want three topics with history, the storage ceiling will bite before the mention ceiling does.

Three topics is less limiting than it looks

Starter allows 3 topics, which reads like a hard cap until you notice that keywords inside a topic are unlimited and Boolean search is on every plan. A topic is a query, not a single word.

So one topic can carry your brand, its common misspellings, your product names and your domain, joined with OR, minus the noise you never want, with NOT. A second can do the same for your two closest competitors. A third can watch the problem language your buyers use rather than any brand at all.

  1. 1Topic one: you. Brand, misspellings, product names, domain. This is the one you read every day.
  2. 2Topic two: competitors. Their names and products, so switching conversations reach you while they are still open.
  3. 3Topic three: the problem. The phrases people use when they describe the job your product does, which is where new customers appear before they know your name.

Structured that way, the storage ceiling matters more than the topic count: 5,000 stored mentions per topic on Starter is a rolling window, so a noisy competitor topic will overwrite its own history quickly.

How many mentions will you actually use?

Starter's 30,000 new mentions a month is about 1,000 a day across every source Awario reads. For scale, we measured six business communities on Reddit with Reddit's own counters on 16 September 2026: r/SaaS publishes 12,109 posts and comments a week, r/smallbusiness 11,348, r/webdev 5,076, r/startups 2,476, r/Entrepreneur 2,335 and r/marketing 861.

A distinctive brand name will not come close to 1,000 mentions a day. A common word will pass it in an afternoon once the open web and news are included, and on Awario the mentions simply stop being collected rather than being billed as overage. That is the safer failure, but it means a badly chosen keyword can quietly eat the quota that your brand needed.

The catches worth knowing

  • Export is not on Starter. Awario's own FAQ says CSV export is available to Pro and Enterprise users. If your plan is to pull mentions into a spreadsheet, the cheap plan will not do it.
  • The API is above that again. API access sits on the Enterprise plan, alongside white-label reports and an account manager.
  • Cancelling is not self-serve. Its FAQ says you can cancel any time by contacting the support team. There is no cancel button described, and no refunds for the unused part of a term.
  • History is a rolling window. When a topic reaches its stored-mention limit, the oldest mentions are replaced. Awario's FAQ says storage runs "from 3,000" per alert, while the plan table says 5,000 on Starter, so confirm the number that applies to you.
  • Trial data is deleted. The trial gives you Starter, 3 alerts and up to 30,000 mentions with no card. If you do not subscribe, the account expires and the data is kept for 14 days before deletion.

What you have to do yourself

Awario collects and organises; it does not judge. There is sentiment analysis and there are filters, but no AI scoring each mention for whether it matters to your business, which is what newer tools charge for. On Starter, with 30,000 mentions a month arriving, the filtering work is yours.

That is fine if your keywords are precise and you enjoy Boolean search, which is included on every plan. Write the query narrowly: your brand OR its misspellings, NOT the unrelated word that shares your name, and check it in the first week rather than at the end of the month, because the mentions you waste are gone from the quota.

Awario against the alternatives

ToolWhat it isEntry priceExport on entry plan
AwarioHigh-volume listening across social, news and web$29/mo billed annuallyNo, Pro and above
OctolensAI-scored listening for B2B SaaS$159/mo billed annuallyYes, CSV on both plans
SyftenCommunity and forum alerts with filtering$29.95/moNot stated
F5BotFree keyword alerts on Reddit, Hacker News, Lobsters$0, then $9.99RSS and JSON from Gold
Brand24Established listening platformFrom $199/mo billed annuallyNot stated
Awario and Octolens read from their own pricing pages on 23 September 2026; Syften, F5Bot and Brand24 from our reads on 16 September 2026. "Not stated" means we did not verify it, not that the feature is missing.

Who it fits, and who it does not

Awario fits a marketer or small agency who wants broad coverage cheaply and is willing to do the filtering: Boolean search on every plan is the lever that makes that possible. At $29 a month billed annually it is the cheapest serious listening tool we have priced.

It does not fit anyone who needs the mentions out of the tool on the cheapest plan, or who wants each mention judged for relevance before it reaches them. For that, Octolens does the filtering and costs about eleven times more per mention. For a few rare keywords on Reddit and Hacker News, F5Bot is free.

And if your real question is not "who mentioned us" but "what do people in this community keep struggling with", none of these is the right tool. That is research rather than monitoring, which is the job our scans do.

The verdict

Awario is the best value in this category if you measure value in mentions: $0.97 per thousand on the entry plan, against $10.60 on an AI-filtered tool. Boolean search on every plan is what makes that cheapness usable rather than overwhelming, and the trial asks for no card, so the cost of finding out is nothing.

What keeps it from being a straightforward recommendation is where the walls sit. Export, the thing most people want by week three, is a plan above. The API is two plans above. Cancelling means emailing support. None of that is hidden, but all of it is worth knowing before the annual invoice, which is where the 40% discount is trying to put you.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Awario cost?

Starter is $29 a month billed annually or $49 monthly, Pro is $89 or $149, and Enterprise is $249 or $399. Those buy 3, 15 and 100 topics and 30,000, 300,000 and 1,000,000 new mentions a month. Read 23 September 2026.

Does Awario have a free trial?

Yes, and it needs no credit card. The trial gives you the Starter plan, up to 3 alerts and up to 30,000 mentions. If you do not subscribe, the account expires and your data is kept for 14 days.

Can I export my mentions from Awario?

Only on Pro and Enterprise. Its FAQ states CSV export is available to those plans, so the Starter plan cannot export.

Does Awario monitor Reddit?

Yes, Reddit is one of the channels it covers and it publishes a dedicated Reddit monitoring page. If Reddit is the only place you care about, a Reddit-specific tool will usually be cheaper.

How do I cancel Awario?

By contacting their support team, according to their own FAQ. There is no self-serve cancellation described, and refunds are not given for the remaining part of a paid term.

What is the difference between topics and mentions?

A topic, or alert, is a keyword set that Awario watches. A mention is a result it finds. Plans limit the number of topics, the new mentions collected each month, and how many mentions are stored per topic.

What is a good Awario alternative?

It depends what is missing. For AI-filtered mentions rather than raw volume, Octolens at $159 a month. For forums and communities, Syften from $29.95. For free Reddit and Hacker News alerts, F5Bot. For established enterprise listening, Brand24 from $199 a month billed annually.

Sources

  1. Awario pricing page: Plan prices on both billing toggles, topics, new and stored mention limits, seats, and the FAQ answers on the trial, export, cancellation, refunds and mention history. Read 23 September 2026.

Skip the manual digging

IdeaFast scans Reddit for you and scores real pain points with evidence. Run your first scan free.

Start your free scan